Her Bizzy Diet – Day 5

14 Feb

Today turned out to be a bit of a challenge.  First off, I was invited out to lunch with one of my new coworkers.  I knew ahead of time that we were going to go out so I hadn’t packed lunch, but had no clue where were going since I don’t know the area.  We ended up just walking across the street where our options were Subway, a Mexican joint, or a pizza place.  I let Jen decide since I knew with any of those choices I was going to get a salad regardless.  She chose the pizza place, ordered a slice of some heavenly looking pizza and I opted for the artichoke and red pepper salad since it seemed like the least of all the evils and had some protein on it.  Turned out to be pretty tasty, however I can’t for the life of me find any nutritional information on it and that is driving me nuts.  The closest thing I could find had an insane amount of carbs listed and seeing as how there wasn’t much to be carbohydrate-rich in the salad, I’m thinking that it’s probably not that on point.

My second challenge today was sweets.  Now normally I’m not a huge sweets fan, but as of lately the cravings have been coming in big time.  Cookies, cake, and shit tons of ice cream have been consumed lately.  Well, being that it’s Valentines Day there was a giant pink box of any kind of donuts you could dream of right in the front lobby. I had to walk by it every time I needed to use the bathroom (which is about every 30-45 minutes with all the water I am consuming).  Not only that, but being the nice person I am, I also brought in a box of cookies for my coworkers.  (Hey, don’t judge, it’s only my second week and I need to make a good impression!)  Anyway, no one ate them!!!  So every time I went to the printer, there they were.  I didn’t have any, but by the end of the day only one person helped themselves which meant that I had to take them home with me.  And there, during my entire two-hour commute, sat these delicious, pink, soft baked cake cookies just tempting me.  I still didn’t break. Go me!

Then came the hardest challenge of my day.  If you ask any person who knows me what my biggest stressor is, they will all unanimously answer “MONEY!”  The month didn’t start off that great in the financial dept due to a 12 hour delay in paying rent that ended up costing me almost $200 in late fees (totally my fault, which is the most frustrating part of the whole thing – no one to blame but myself).  But anyway, today it turns out I may be getting charged yet another $40 late fee for something I shouldn’t be charged for.  Well that really chaps my ass.  So what do I want to do when I get pissed?  You got it – eat and drink.  I’m not talking about maybe having a ho ho and a glass of wine.  I’m talking a super value meal from the drive thru, along with one or two other menu items and about 3/4 of a bottle of vodka.  That’s my coping mechanism when I feel like the world fucks me – I say fuck you right back, I stop caring and go into fat mode.  But I didn’t want to do that tonight.  I’m making such great progress.  I’m seeing the fruits of my labor and not only that but I’m enjoying the food and the workouts.  I want to see this thing through to the end, and dammit it’s only day 5.  I can’t give up now.  So yeah, I got a little lazy with dinner tonight – threw a turkey burger in a pan and some zucchini in another.  At least I stuck with protein and veggies…and maybe a little sriracha mayo, but who’s counting, right?

Anyway, after my rant, my point is this:  I am going to do this.  I am not going to let all of the outside influences affect me this time.  I made a commitment.  21 days.  That is all I need to do.  I WILL DO THIS!

One Response to “Her Bizzy Diet – Day 5”

  1. Nicki February 17, 2014 at 11:45 AM #

    Eating out is such an incredible challenge for me as well..props to you for doing so well and sticking with it! I’ve been reasoning with myself that I’ve already made a bit of a financial investment in these next 3 weeks, so I need to stick with it. Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a comment