Sweet Potato Weekend

19 Mar

As promised, I had a little fun cooking with sweet potatoes this weekend.  And let me tell you, they did not disappoint!

Friday night I did a little prep work.  I peeled, diced, steamed and mashed one sweet potato.  This was all done while watching tv so believe me, it’s not too strenuous.  I knew that I was going to make two recipes like I had said – sweet potato protein pancakes and sweet potato pie overnight oats.  Both of which were huge successes if you ask me.  Here’s what I did:

Sweet Potato Protein Pancakes

20130319-104228.jpg

Ingredients:

1/2 sweet potato steamed and mashed

1 Tbsp Vanilla Protein Powder (I use Iso Sensation 93 – Vanilla Bean)

2 Tbsp Oat Flour

3 Tbsp Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1/4 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Egg

Process:

Mix all ingredients together. 

Pour onto heated skillet.  Make sure you coat your pan with coconut oil or non-stick spray first.

Once you see bubbling, check to see if they’ve started to brown and flip.

Whole recipe makes 3 pancakes and serves 1.

Nutritional Facts:  213 Calories, 6.2 g Fat, 19.8 g Carbs, and 19.5 g Protein

***I topped mine with 0-calorie spray butter and 1/4c of Sugar Free Syrup, but you could use damn near anything they are so delicious!

Sweet Potato Pie Overnight Oats

20130319-105109.jpg

Ingredients:

Overnight Oats Base (you can find this here)

1/2 Sweet Potato steamed and mashed

1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 tsp chia seeds

Nutritional Facts:  234 Calories, 5 g Fat, 39 g Carbs, 13 g Protein

I’m looking forward to making both of these recipes again and playing around with some more overnight oats ideas.  I bought a peach the other day and I’m planning to put that bad boy and maybe some nuts in together.  I dunno, we’ll see.

Oh, and before I go, I almost forgot the most important thing.  Friday, I passed my NASM Personal Trainer exam. I’m really hoping this will open up some new opportunities for me in California.  I’ve been studying for the past 6 months prepping for it.  Now that I have that done, it’s time to really start focusing on that “trainer body”.  Friday night we did go out to celebrate.  I was good and ordered a healthy meal and we opted for seeing a movie rather than going out of going for drinks.  No binge weekend means that I am still on track and moving forward with my birthday goal – 27 days left BTW.

Thumbs Up.JPG

Leave a Reply

