Mini-Challenge Day One

13 Aug

I’m not gonna lie, this morning was a struggle. 

I could not fall asleep last night to save my life.  Around 10:30 I took a unisom and that finally kicked in about 11:30.  11:55 my dogs woke me up to go outside. *sigh* The rest of the night I was sort of in and out.

My alarm went off at 5am so that I could get started bright and early for my week 2 challenge to myself.  My immediate reaction?  SNOOZE!  5:09 my alarm goes off again.  My reaction this time?  Set alarm for 5:50 and decide to go back to bed.  But then this little voice inside my head started saying, nay yelling, “IT’S THE FIRST DAY OF YOUR OWN CHALLENGE AND YOU ARE ALREADY FAILING!!!”  What was I thinking?  People don’t get the bodies of their dreams by hitting the snooze button, do they?  So I pulled my tired ass out of bed, brushed my teeth, slapped on my sneakers and hit the treadmill.  45 minute incline walk (which felt more like 45 hours) was completed.  And, I felt great afterwards.  In fact, for getting as little sleep as I did last night, I’m pretty energetic today.

I’m proud of myself for kicking my own ass.  Hard work really does pay off (aka sleeping in until 6 tomorrow)!  Does anyone else set mini-goals for themselves? 

One Response to “Mini-Challenge Day One”

  1. Dawn August 13, 2012 at 1:55 PM #

    I am trying to set mini-goals for myself as well. My main one that I set everyday, atleast for now, is to work harder and sweat more at the gym than I did the previous day. I can’t start to slack or I know I will just give up. I have a long term goal to reach that I know I can’t do in just one step. Just like walking, your not going to get to your destination in one long stride it takes many steps to get where you are going.

Leave a Reply

