Fun + Falling Off the Fitness Wagon = Vacation

6 Aug

I just got back from a two-week vacation with one week spent in Georgia and another week at home relaxing.  It was both awesome and not-so-awesome. 

First the high points:

I got to surprise my sister by flying down to attend her graduation. The look on her face when I got there was priceless.  She had no idea!  It was so great to see her walk across the stage and get her Surgical Tech Diploma.  We are all so proud of her and she got tons of loud cheers from us all.

Doesn’t she look smart? Graduated with a 4.0!

I also got to spend lots of time with my niece and nephew.  My niece at 2 and a half was absolutely adorable and loved playing with Aunt Carey’s hair.  I got quite a few makeovers while I was there complete with jewelry, hair and makeup.

Denva gave me all her fairy rings to wear

So, those were the highlights…now for the bad part.  Although I enjoyed spending time with my family, it allowed me to fall completely off the wagon in terms of food and exercise.  My sister and I tried to get to the gym a couple of times, but it was damn near impossible.  And then the food.  I had good intentions of eating clean while I was down there but as the days went by my eating got worse and worse. 

Here are a few of the delicious horrible things I indulged in while on vacation:

Southern BBQ Ribs with Mashed Potatoes & Gravy and Macaroni and Cheese

I won’t even go into the details for the other meals.  Lets just say that those abs I posted a few weeks back are on a temporary hiatus.

On the bright side, this vacation was an eye-opener.  I realize that just because I was good for 30 days doesn’t mean I have gotten rid of all of my food-demons.  I still have cravings and I still want to lay around with a quart of ice cream resting on my belly and a recently devoured bag of fast food digesting in my gut.  I have to be strong and I have to make smart decisions.  I don’t have to be perfect, but I can’t let being on vacation completely derail all of my progress again.  So, here I am, Monday morning vowing to start fresh and get back on track.  I can do this!  If you fall off track, then don’t beat yourself up, just shrug it off and get back to business.

Leave a Reply

